Well, that was interesting.

It’s always fun when you’re shepherding 4 somewhat jetlagged Japanese Girl Scout Leaders round London, and Westminster Bridge is suddenly completely and utterly overwhelmed by naked cyclists. All part of the fun of the World Naked Bike Ride.

Once we’d managed to find ourselves next to Paddington Bear, at Paddington Station (I swear they’ve moved him),  we dropped off luggage (King’s Cross Station is very exciting, because there’s platform 9 3/4) then we headed for lunch, then Westminster Abbey (n.b. One hour is nowhere near enough, particularly not with those entry fees) then the Florence Nightingale Museum (one hour also not enough. Actually, 45 minutes was not enough. Fortunately, I gift-aided the tickets, so I can go back later in the week and finish reading all the labels. It was very, very good. I just would have liked more time. I am one of those annoying types who needs to read everything in a museum. This really annoyed The Professor in the Jewish Museum in Berlin. You’d think a history professor would understand this. Apparently not. He got really, really impatient…). Then I came home, having dropped them off to Pax Lodge.  I sort of went flumph, destroyed a scone in the toaster (the toaster is a fire hazard, it won’t stay down, so I’ve taken to wedging it with the electric tin opener and lurking in the vicinity. But I needed the loo), ate too many Jelly Babies, didn’t drink any gin, and reheated something that involved chicken, cashew nuts and some sort of spice for supper.

Today, I am trying to sort out my Brownie camp. I am mostly succeeding. I feel rather better about the admin now. Just need to get the money in from parents! So often the case. I also have a bit of a bijou list. I’ve already dealt with laundry, the supermarket shop, and a 7 mile run (hilly, slow, not enough mud). I have the day off tomorrow – it was either that or go hatstand due to too many people. I seem to have filled much of tomorrow with people, which was a bit silly of me. Still. N’s giving me some elbow space until fairly late tonight, and I feel rather more in control of things. I don’t like having my head in the computer when he’s around. I get very focussed on what I’m doing, and he may as well not be there, and that’s just silly. I’ve gotten over it a bit, but for real concentration, I prefer to have a clear flat. Picky. That’s me.

  • Buy handkerchiefs for father’s day (I already have the card. It says All the other Dads are weird and it made me laugh) This has now been put back to Christmas. He’s getting a rather nice book on Sunday, which I must wrap, and then a rather nice bottle of champagne for his birthday.
  • Buy wool to make a Red Telephone Box hat for a small boy with cancer (his parents met in the UK. I did consider a corgi, a crown, a british bulldog, Big Ben, but I thought that the telephone box would be the most fun when you’re two years old and bald. Plus I can get the really soft yarn I used for Hazel’s hat. He’s too small for a TARDIS).
  • backup the hard drive
  • chase up the tiler
  • Risk assessment for normal Brownie meetings (because, if I need to fill in an accident form, they’ll ask if I’ve done one, I suspect this is overkill)
  • List all the leaders in the Div ready for Weds
  • Buy Mollie Makes
  • Brownies accounts, pay in cheques, post cheques
  • Make map keyrings for the Japanese GS Leaders, Begun
  • Finish reading ‘Half of a Yellow Sun’. Read something more cheerful nextTom Sawyer. Much happier.
  • Finish the sleeves of my purple cardigan Nearly there.
  • Get a new plate drying rack (the current one’s plastic is falling off, and it’s making an awful mess)
  • Get relevant cable, copy tapes for ShadowSystems
  • Collect the photos, the prescription, the parcel and buy a hole punch (at which point my 20-odd year old hole punch will miraculously resurface). It did.

I think that’s quite enough for one day. Even if I do think this blog needs some more pictures.

xxx

