After various incidents of hysteria over the pond, I decided that it was probably a good idea to email Starbucks UK to find out what is, and isn’t, gluten-free over here. Because, it’s not clear, and there’s an awful lot of conjecture going on. I was pleasantly surprised.
The nice chap who replied did so at about midnight (graveyard customer service shift) and emailed the following. Verbatim. So this is obviously a standard reply. Why it’s not easy to find on the website, I don’t know. Information correct as of 14th November 2013. Bear in mind that there is the potential for cross-contamination because of the way the stores are organised and run, and use your own judgement.
I can confirm that none of our hand crafted beverages currently available in our stores are made with ingredients that contain wheat or gluten.
We also have a selection of food items which are made from ingredients free of wheat and gluten to enjoy with your beverage.
Currently this includes:
• Gluten Free Ham Cheese and Coleslaw Roll
• Fairtrade Chocolate Brownie (please request a wrapped product)
• Chocolate Hazelnut Loaf Cake (please request a wrapped product)
• Fruit Salad
• Creamy Natural Yogurt
• Very Berry Compote (condiment for yogurt)
• Maple and Honey Sauce (condiment for yogurt)
• Fairtrade banana
• Two varieties of Fruit & Nut Bars
• Nut Mix
• Roasted Almonds
• Sea Salt Potato Chips
• Fairtrade Chocolate bars – Dark and Milk
Please ask the barista in store if you are unable to locate these items.
Hurrah for gluten free hot chocolate!
Also, I’ve been told that Cafe Nero’s basic hot chocolate is now definitely dairy free if you have soya milk, and avoid the cream and the chocolate sprinkles.