One in two?

One in two of us will get cancer?

Four years ago, it was one in three. Then that changed to 4 in ten. But one in two? And it’s not as if it’s been a big announcement: it just popped up, in passing, in something the CEO of Macmillan was saying.

One in two?

Yesterday, K and I went collecting for The Eve Appeal at Liverpool Street Station. One of my colleagues is collecting after work at Bank Station. We’ve decided we all love The Eve Appeal. There’s only 10 of them in their office, they’re bright and cheerful and lovely ladies, and it’s a good cause. They really, really rely on supporters – you can tell they’ve not got many, because they are very good at contacting, at phoning, and emailing, and it’s so very personal each time.  Plus, they had the coolest charity day: funny feet. The Brownies had a feet-themed evening, with silly socks and mad shoes (the best thing about this was that simply by wearing odd socks, you could join in. So much simpler than anything else. Everyone has Odd Socks).

Today, I took a picture of a lovely sunrise for N’s Dad (who loved the stories and pictures from the Zoo). I’m going to take a picture of all of us at coffee tonight: the letter was very well appreciated, and it’s simple enough for me to print pictures and write. And it makes me feel better.

Meanwhile, my Dad mentioned nothing about going to the GP on Tuesday, so apparently really does just have a virus.

I think the office window will blow in… i need to shut the outside window. Hang on.

 

xxx

