Today, I wrote an SSIS package with a config file, and a powershell script, and an iSeries connector

And, you know what? On about the fourth attempt, it actually worked.

Then it worked when called from SSIS (rather than BIDS)

Then it worked from the SQL Agent (well, after a little futzing).

Then it worked from a scheduled job called by SQL Agent.

And I’m so pleased that N actually understands what’s meant by all this, as very few other people do.  I’m excited, as it was my first attempt with a config file!  I think I get bragging rights.

Last night was a little easier for folks to understand: a Brownie Pantomime. It was comically wonderful. Cinderella was barefoot throughout, with huge plantive eyes, and some ugly sisters who were the best poseurs ever. Her coach was made of sugar paper, and she could pull it over her head. The Prince’s arrival was announced by a real live trombone in lieu of trumpeters, and the Rainbows sang “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer” at half time. There was tea and biscuits beforehand, and everyone got a badge at the end. I made the mistake of wearing my smart shoes, and froze. It was brilliant. The leaders say never, ever, again.

In the meantime, I’ve crossed off two outstanding pieces of Guidemin (which involved posting stuff) and I’ve spilled about 1/2 a litre of water along the platform of the tube station. Saturated my knitting and pattern, and felt very foolish indeed.

xxx

 

2 thoughts on “Today, I wrote an SSIS package with a config file, and a powershell script, and an iSeries connector

  1. I…you did a very clever thing that I will never do *applauds*

    Those leaders may say never, ever again, but those Rainbows and Brownies will remember the time they got up a panto forever! 🙂

Comments are closed.