40% of the way through War and Peace

I don’t like the war bits. The peace bits are rather fun. And the masonic stuff is intriguing.

This weekend has involved a lot of running, some morris dancing, and finishing off the bunting. I am so pleased that the bunting is no longer part of my life. I am going to learn how to say “no” to requests for knitting. There have been so many other things that I wanted to knit, and I’ve been grumpy and resentful that N’s socks, other N’s socks, J’s booties et al have had to be put on the back burner while a total of 16 flags were knitted, and 17 more flags got their ends sewn in. Plus, I am an unashamed yarn snob, and dislike knitting with unnatural fibres. Does look pretty though. And N was fabulous at helping string them up (and that helped the stress-grump levels).

I’ve suddenly decided that colouring-in is the best way to de-stress before bedtime. Apart from the fact that I don’t have a pink colouring pencil. My Caran D’Ache set is only 12 pencils wide (and one of those is white. Why?). I am hankering after something with a little more variety.  I have a colouring book from Tiger. It is agreeably bonkers in variety.

I’ve just finished reading Gaudy Night. Harriet finally, finally agrees to marry Peter. And I have the most terrific crush on him…Ian Carmichael plays him most beautifully on the radio, but I really don’t want to watch the TV adaptations. While David Suchet is Poirot, personified, I’m not sure about seeing Wimsey. I think I prefer to imagine. And the covers of the Petherbridge Series DVDs really do not inspire confidence.

xxx

