I’m in legs…

Long legs. Long sleeves. A week ago I was still in shorts and a singlet. This is such a shock to the system. I also realised just how uncomfortable, compared to the long legs, and the shorts, most of my capri-length pants are. I think I need to upgrade from the el-cheapo Karrimors. The trick is going to be finding something with a large enough back pocket to hold my inhaler. Any suggestions?

On the plus side, I was nicely cosy. No chilly arms. No chilly legs. A much happier calf muscle (it’s still going to the Lovely Chiropractor to have a needle pushed into it. Then I’m detouring home via Run and Become for some calf-warmers – I have a voucher after buying my most recent trainers!). I may also acquire some longer socks, depending on cost and aesthetics. I rejected the ones in Nike Town last night, on grounds of both cost and aesthetics. I was in the centre of town to meet a potential new Guide Leader (she’s lovely) before morris practice, so I had a little detour. I was underwhelmed.

Anyhow. The early morning, a trip along the canal punctuated by random squirrels collecting nuts, rather than going round the park yet again perked me up nicely and I think I achieved a 1 mile PB of 7:39min. I’m not sure simply because Strava believes my mile PB is 6:47, but that’s based on the BUPA 10K from last year when the GPS went squiffy and added on about 1/4 mile in the middle of The City. I got the bit between my teeth somewhere around mile 5.5, and this, combined with a nice flat bit of canal, a lack of cyclists and dog walkers, and the knowledge that I’d started out far too late and needed to get a wiggle on meant that I kept going at that pace for over a mile. I’m partly proud of myself. And partly worrying that I’m going to feel a need to maintain this sort of thing on a regular basis, rather than once in a blue moon. I’m not supposed to be going for speed. I’m supposed to be going for stamina! There is one more long run (20 miles) before Berlin, and then I taper. I’m getting quite excited about tapering. I’m hoping to stop losing weight (I must buy an avocado to go with my lunch).

Smashing the Mile

Meanwhile, should you require an all female morris dancing side, it looks like I’ll be bookings secretary for the next year.

xxx

