Slow morning

In fact, I think I recorded my slowest parkrun ever. 29 minutes! It was damp and mizzly, and, on the jog up to the start, I needed the inhaler, and, I decided “this is not worth having an asthma attack over” – damp and mizzly being a trigger “I’m just going to run gently, and enjoy it, and test out my calf-compression-skins”. So I did. They are wonderful compression things. The calf was most happy for the whole run (all those hills). I shall wear them tomorrow too.

Tomorrow I may push a bit more enthusiastically for “the last long run before the marathon”. I’m of two minds how far to go. I’m erring towards 18 miles at the moment, rather than 20 (i.e. not going to visit Prince Albert in his memorial). We shall see. If I sleep properly tonight, I’ll go for 20. Last night was a bit abysmal, sleep-wise. I was so incredibly wired after Brownies and Guides (and a pre-Brownies caffeine hit) that I did not settle effectively, and my fitbit informs me that it was one of the more restless nights I’ve had recently. Brownies and Guides were lovely. We did good planning. We made stuff. We played games. They were (mostly, aside from a spot of out-and-out lying) well behaved. They are a nice bunch, and I’ve missed them. I’m at Brownies most Fridays in September. Usual leadership crisis being somewhat worse than normal. BUT, I am meeting new people who can help, so I’m hoping to sort it out by the time the students are back in London.

I’ve nearly finished a pair of socks. And I will post a photo of the broken sock when I’ve mended it.

I have also bought a book purely on the basis that the person reviewing it in Slightly Foxed was very enthusiastic. And we have a guidebook for Berlin. I am determined to get up that Reichstag.

xxx

