Guidemin

It’s taking over. Between running the Friday night Brownies (only one more week) and running the Division, I’ve only got one free evening this week that isn’t Guiding related. Obviously, I’ll go morris dancing…because that’s a totally sensible use of a free evening! Besides, it’s good aerobic exercise, and an excuse to gossip with friends.

But oh! The Guidemin! Brownie holiday is looming (so all the paperwork for that), it’s the beginning of term (lots of paperwork and settling back in) and then the meeting of people moving down to London and trying to assign them to units. It feels like herding kittens a lot of the time. I’m never quite on top of it. I have So. Many. Lists.

On the plus side, we’ve measured up for curtains in the new place. Chosen a colour for the main bedroom: I discovered that the (non-functional) fireplace in the corner still has the original tiles in front of it. Moreover, these tiles had been painted over in iron grey, to match the fireplace paint. Underneath, they are a GLORIOUS enamel blue, similar to Delft pottery. I’m thoroughly excited, and planning to clean off the paint, and have the “feature” wall of the bedroom in a similar shade of blue. This will match our current mis-matched bedside tables, and gives me something to work with curtain-wise, and blind-wise. I’m also thrilled that most of the curtain rails were left behind. I can skip pelmets. Mum made most of our curtains and pelmets as I was growing up, and the pelmets always appeared to be vastly more stressful, despite involving less material.

Running is lovely. I wish this morning (5 miles, mizzly weather) had been a tad faster – my legs felt heavy after the weekend and not *quite* enough sleep. I also think that the calf compression thingies slow me down: has anyone else felt this? Should I have gone for the slightly larger size? I was on the cusp, measurement-wise, and they do feel if you know what I mean.

Tomorrow: six miles. Gently. Hurrah!

xxx

