Today I went running

I think it’s probably accurate to call it “two intervals of 1.5(ish) miles” as I stopped at the midpoint to catch my breath. Actually, that’s not entirely accurate. I also stopped about 1/4 mile in as there was the most gorgeous ginger kitty mewing for some attention, so of course I had to give him some love and adoration, as he stepped off his canal boat to say “Hello! Love me! Love me!”. And he was very amenable to being tickled between the ears and generally fussed over.

I was feeling stressed, wound up, overwrought and out of sorts this morning. I wish people would do what they’ve committed to doing, rather than letting people down at the last moment. The stress that results from such selfish behaviour is far reaching and doesn’t do any of us any good. I set off like a bat out of hell, and mostly maintained the pace for the duration of the run. Brisk, in every sense of the word – because it’s chilly. Long legs. Long arms. And a pale t-shirt over the top for increased visibility in the gloom. Alas, the glorious red vines that I’d seen on the canal last week, and wanted to photograph and share, had lost their leaves. So there are no photos. Oh well. I had my phone with me, because I wanted to have the opportunity if there was something lovely. The canal itself was looking reasonably photogenic, but not enough to make me want to stop a third time.

I need to keep pushing for that sort of pace, regardless of whether I’m in A Mood or not. Suffice it to say, I feel rather more able to cope having run the adrenaline out. I didn’t fight. I created some flight, and I feel much more able to roll with the punches. 8:09 min/miles. Staunch.

xxx

4 thoughts on “Today I went running

  1. I would have stopped for kitty too!
    I find some of my best runs come following my most stressful days at work. Running is a great stress-reliever!

Comments are closed.