Getting back to it

Last night I went to my first morris dancing practice in weeks. I was late – I’d been meeting a potential new leader for Guides, and we gabbled for about an hour and a half (always a good start, talking your heads off, but a new record for gabbling time, and it put me very behind schedule!). So I was late. I managed a half hour of dancing time, and it was glorious. Grin-making glorious. And I didn’t get overcome by the cough, and my peak flow is nearly back to normal. All is well with the world. Our new bag is also extremely efficient, and is cajoling us to reply to polls, and confirm whether we can do events. It is so nice to be organised in advance. I don’t want to overdo the exercise though. I’m still recovering. Itchy to run, but still recovering.

So I’ll go for a run on Friday morning before work. N went this morning, and I slept through him departing. This is unusual – I’m generally awake and unable to get back to sleep when he gets up early.

I’m then going to do the local 10km on Sunday morning, as a longer run test. Not pushing too hard – just to get some miles in my legs and have a medal for the effort. And a banana. Love me a post-run banana, as I may have mentioned before now. I’m useless at buying the things.

Then, next weekend, we’re booked to do the Thames Meander Half Marathon. It’s a lovely route. Very flat. Scenic, along the Thames, and I reckon if I take it slowly, I can probably manage it. It won’t be a PB. It will be enjoyable. Plus, the vicar-wot-married us will probably be running it, as it’s on a Saturday, and he wants to be faster than me, so he’ll probably achieve that, and he’ll be happy. I may have mentioned this before now.

xxx

