The first runs back…

It seems like an aeon since surgery – but it was only 12 days. I’m back to work (to my new job!) tomorrow, and still struggling a little bit with energy levels. I just do not want to get up in the morning at all. Nor can I settle at night.

Anyhow. I spent most of last week trying to relax, and doing a fair amount of walking, and this week has been a little more hectic, with several trips into the centre of London to do Various Things and see Various People. Tuesday  night was somewhat trying on this front, as my uterus decided to stage a revolt, and I was collecting a supremely generous cheque from the Freemasons, so couldn’t exactly duck out. I think the photographs of this event will show me looking rather grey round the gills.

By Thursday: my innards felt more-or less normal! I can only describe the past week or so as having been like having done some rather strenuous core work combined with very mild period pains pretty much all of the time. Thursday and Friday? Normal. Normality. Rolling over in bed while asleep. Midriff that felt like it belongs to me again (and my belly button has shifted back to where it should be). Wasn’t quite up for doing the Mummy’s race at my Goddaughter’s sports day, but Auntie Coco stepped up to the mark, and came gloriously last – my goodness, some of those mothers are competitive. They were in full running gear. Auntie Coco? She was in studded ballet pumps. She rocks.

So, based on normality, on a uterus that had decided to behave again, and the fact that I’d not wanted painkillers for anything other than a slight hangover for 48 hours, I decided to try parkrun on Saturday.

Of course, I was running late as I left, so hit an 8:40 min/mile for the mile to parkrun. This was a mistake, as it left my innards feeling out of sorts. I held back for the actual parkrun, considered bailing part way round, decided that bailing really wasn’t necessary, and came in at the 29 minute marker – so about a 9:30 min/mile. Along with everyone else doing parkrun: honestly, the funnel was rammed with people. This is 3.5 minutes slower than usual – and the difference was amazing. 303rd instead of being about 130th. And, the queues for the scanners were pretty epic! The previous times I’ve been to parkrun at Frimley, I’ve just waltzed through without having to queue at all. I walked home. I’d done quite enough, and wasn’t in the mood to push further.

Today, I thought I felt perky, my innards were also feeling pretty chipper, and I decided to try doing 4 miles. I’ve managed 3. I can only describe it as the same feeling I had when jetlagged after our skiing holiday. Slow. Chuggy. 9:45 min/miles. Having to stop at the top of the hill. And, really, it’s hardly surprising. I’ve done lots of walking (I’ve managed at least 10,000 steps every day for the past week), but nothing particularly aerobic. Instruments and CO2 have been poked around my innards – the holes may be small, but they had a thorough rummage in there, and the bruises are yet to fade. It took me a good two weeks to settle back to proper running after 10 days of not really running while we were skiing – so why should I be back up to full form right now, when I’ve not merely had a relaxing holiday? I may be determined, but there are limits. I’m fairly confident that I’ll get round the 10k race at the end of the month (dammit, I want my ill-fitting tech-top and pink-Vitality medal. Or, rather, I want to feel that I’ve not wasted my money on a race entry!). But I know it’s not going to be anywhere near PB territory – it’s going to be “I’m having a nice run and enjoying the atmosphere” territory. What I feel is lazy running- but it genuinely isn’t.

So, the plan is for a pootle out on Tuesday night, for a couple of miles, and the same on Thursday. Parkrun on Saturday, this time trying to run both there and back (because I get a legit break between the two, and that takes me up to five miles), and then see how I feel about Sunday. I’ve eaten a fair quantity of cake in the past week, as going into London always seems to involve cake, so I need to balance my cake with some activity. I also need to keep it reasonable.

Now is not the time to compete with myself. Now is the time to enjoy running for the sake of it.

xxx

6 thoughts on “The first runs back…

  1. I had a similar experience at parkrun this Saturday- we ran slower as we were doing another one afterwards, and finishing at 31 minutes instead of the usual 29 ish made a massive difference to the scanner queues- it was their busiest day to be fair, but still those minutes make all the difference.
    It’s bound to take a while for you to be back to normal after your op- things on the inside need to heal too and you can’t see that, so best to take it easy.
    Also, why can’t some of the race sort the tops? I did a Women’s Running race and the tops last summer were like maternity ones- I threw mine away (well put it in the clothes charity bag)- whereas the year before it was quite nice. It does annoy me because I will pay more for a race with a tech top, but then if it’s bad then next time I might not. Enjoy anyway!

  2. Busiest at my local parkrun seems to be when I head for PB territory (anywhere sub 26;30) – I find myself getting stressed out trying to not heel-clip other runners and end up settling for slowing slightly purely to calm myself down. Our 29-30minute group seem to be nicely spaced out! I guess each parkrun will have different high volume times.
    Make sure to give yourself plenty of time to fully recover following your op. It’s always more difficult when you can’t physically see anything wrong anymore I think. Harder to get your head round why times are still slower, but like Maria said, you need to let things on the inside heal too. Hope you are feeling more back to normality again soon.

    • I was vaguely attempting to keep pace with the 30 minute pacer. However, he was all over the place, and wasn’t doing a consistent pace to give anyone a 30 minute finish – he had to do some drastic slowing down for the last 3/4 mile!

      Will have to see how next week goes. If nothing else, I’m going to get up to my 50 runs this summer. I am determined.

  3. This does make me squirm a little (sorry, I know this is rather insensitive considering it’s you that’s going through it and not me, I’m just very squeamish). I wouldn’t have a clue how to come back to run post any sort of op. It’s sounds like you’re doing a good job though monitoring yourself and not pushing too hard or being too hard on yourself.
    *Sighs* race tops. Don’t even get me started.

    • I do forget that not everyone has had the experience of living with a trainee doctor – the lovely Jo! To be honest, by our standards, I’ve been fairly tame(!!!). Sorry. Didn’t mean to squick you out.

      I’m looking forward to tonight’s run. Little, gentle, regular. These are my new watchwords!

Comments are closed.