The world has gone mad

The world may yet go sane. In the meantime, I look at my Grandmother, holding on to my father in late 1940 (she was 40 at that point) and see so many parallels. Somehow, it’s very comforting. Her smile. 

Today, we welcomed T into the Catholic Church: I am his big sister’s Godmother (despite being Church of England). There’s something comforting about liturgy, about taking part in something that’s not changed for centuries, about something that expresses love, and welcome. About vowing to renounce Evil (or Satan). About saying the same prayers. It’s one of the things I love about going to church: something I do very sporadically. Sharing the same words with so many people round the world. Hearing the comfortable words in the Common Prayer (and isn’t that the most marvellous phrase? Comfortable words): 

Come unto me all that travail and are heavy laden, and I will refresh you.

Such a nice sentiment. I’m not wildly keen on the idea of justification by faith alone: deeds are just as important. Or, as The Doctor puts it “Never be cruel and never be cowardly. And if you ever are, always make amends.” Or, Wil Wheaton “Don’t be a dick.”

Ankle is healing gently. I’m sure I need to give it more rest. And I will give it a week after it’s not hurt before trying it again. I want to be able to enjoy running: and get the introspection out through my feet. 

I have an ear worm. There are worse ear worms: it’s the song of the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts. I like the second verse more. 

Our way is clear as we march on,

And see! Our flag on high,

Is never furled throughout the world,

For hope shall never die!

We must unite for what is right,

In friendship true and strong,

Until the earth,

In its rebirth,

Shall sing our song!

Shall sing our song!

All those who loved the true and good,

Whose promises were kept,

With humble mind, whose acts were kind,

whose honour never slept;

These were the free!

And we must be,

Prepared like them to live,

To give to all,

Both great and small,

All we can give
Xxx

